Office of Undergraduate Research
Pages Navigation Menu

Supporting Undergraduate Research at Abilene Christian University since 2009

Physics Team Announces Incredible Achievement!

Posted by on Dec 10, 2018 in Announcement, Faculty Mentor, Feature, STEM, Student Researcher | Comments Off on Physics Team Announces Incredible Achievement!

The PHENIX Collaboration, a team of Physics researchers including ACU Faculty Rusty Towell, Donald Isenhower, and Michael Daugherity, as well as ACU students Hannah Hamilton, Cecily Towell, and Daniel Jumper, recently published the paper, “Creation of quark-gluon plasma droplets with three distinct geometries,” in NATURE Physics. In a media release by Brookhaven National Laboratory, they explain that the study provides “evidence that collisions of miniscule [sic] projectiles with gold nuclei create tiny specks of the perfect fluid that filled the early universe.” You can read the full media release here. The NATURE article can be accessed here.

Congratulations to the PHENIX Team! This is an incredible achievement for our faculty and students, alike!

Read More

Student Opportunities Center

Posted by on Aug 30, 2016 in Announcement, Faculty Mentor, Feature, Journal Articles, Student Researcher, Summer Research Opportunities | Comments Off on Student Opportunities Center

ACU undergraduate researchers and mentors have access to the Student Opportunities Center (S.O.C.).

The S.O.C. is a platform which connects students to over 10,000 student conferences, journals, new and prestigious experiential learning opportunities (scholarship, fellowship, community/civic engagement), and undergraduate research opportunities.

Sign-up for the Student Opportunities Center by going to and creating an account with your ACU email address.

Read More

2015-2016 Undergraduate Research Mentors of the Year

Posted by on Apr 17, 2016 in Faculty Mentor, Feature | Comments Off on 2015-2016 Undergraduate Research Mentors of the Year

Each year, 3 professors involved in research are chosen by ACU students to receive the Mentor of the Year Award.

This year the winners were Dr. Michael Daugherity, Dr. Christopher Hutson, and Dr. Anita Broxson.

  • Dr.  Michael Daugherity, Department of Physics
    • This mentor was nominated by his students for his enthusiasm and devotion to research and the students that he works with. His extraordinary teaching as well as his character inspires students to pursue their interests and passions. He is experienced in his field of study and relates information effectively and efficiently, helping to develop student interest in research. Dr. Daugherity has helped his students shape and form projects that have expanded their knowledge and intellect. One student said that this professor is someone that they admire and will never forget. 
  • Dr. Christopher Hutson, Department of Bible, Missions, & Ministry
    • This mentor was nominated by his students because he is an unwavering source of support and encouragement for his students’ research endeavors. His encouragement has given students the confidence to continue their projects with renewed motivation and persistence. He is excellent at communicating with his students through every stage of the research process and takes a personal interest in their work. One student said this professor has given him confidence to stay motivated throughout the research process because he has learned it can produce magnificent results. 
  • Dr. Anita Broxson, School of Nursing
    • This mentor was nominated by her students for her contagious passion and enthusiasm for research. She helps her students discover their own passion for research and encourages them to think critically and view things from different perspectives. She takes a personal interest in her students and helps them discover and develop their talents with patience and understanding. She inspires a spirit of integrity in everything as she encourages her student to seek Christ in every aspect of their work. Her role as a mentor goes far beyond her research projects. She cares not only about her students’ education but their mental and spiritual well being as well. 

Congratulations to these professors for their exemplary role as mentors!

Read More

Spring Conferences 2016

Posted by on Apr 12, 2016 in Conferences, Feature | Comments Off on Spring Conferences 2016

ACU students have been traveling all over the United States presenting their research. Some of the conferences include:

American Chemical Society National Conference, Alpha Chi National Convention, Eastern Communication Association Conference, Multidisciplinary Head and Neck Cancer Symposium, National Association of Social Work Baccalaureate Program Directors Annual Conference, National Conference on Undergraduate Research, Pacific Sociological Association Meeting, Texas Academy of Science.

We are so proud of all of these students, but some items of note include:

The School of Social Work taking 31 students to their conference.

At the Alpha Chi National Conference, Kristen Brehm won 1st place for her presentation in the chemistry division. Jeffrey Wooliscroft won a regional Alpha Chi scholarship, and Tina Johnson and Hailey Yamada both received chapter scholarships.

Jamie Thompson and James Nix placed 2nd overall among over 75 undergraduate posters at the Texas Academy of Science meeting.

Read More

2016 ACU Undergraduate Research Festival

Posted by on Apr 11, 2016 in Activities, Conferences, Feature | Comments Off on 2016 ACU Undergraduate Research Festival

The ACU Undergraduate Research Festival is an annual conference at which ACU undergraduate students present research they have done in the last year. The 8th Research Festival was April 5, 2016. Read more about the Festival and award winners at

The 9th Research Festival will be April 4, 2017.

Read More

ACU Undergraduate Researchers Presented at a Variety of Conferences this Fall

Posted by on Nov 15, 2015 in Arts, Conferences, Feature, Humanities, Social Sciences, STEM, Student Researcher | Comments Off on ACU Undergraduate Researchers Presented at a Variety of Conferences this Fall

ACU undergraduate researchers have been traveling to conferences this fall.

Ryan Wilson traveled with Dr. Darby Hewitt of the Department of Engineering and Physics to present his work at the Frontiers in Optics/ Laser Science Conference.

Hannah Lowry, Kristen McNally, Austin Lemmons, and Jake Hall presented at the 2015 CSOTTE Conference: Emerging Scholars Track.

Hannah Choquette and Dr. Stephen Baldridge presented at the North American Christians in Social Work Conference in Grand Rapids, MI.

Bre Heinrich, Kennedy Morrison and Dr. Stephen Baldridge presented at the Lubbock Christian University Healthy Families Conference.

Tyler Salter presented from his McNair Scholars research at the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion.

Several faculty and students from the Department of Engineering and Physics attended and presented at the 2015 Fall Meeting of the American Physics Society of Nuclear Physics in Santa Fe, NM. Rueben Byrd, Hannah Hamilton, Cecily Towell, Paul Carstens, Lauren Slensky, and Zhaojia Xi all received scholarships to present their work at the conference.

Fourteen McNair scholars presented at McNair Conferences at the University of New Mexico or the University of Wisconsin. Read about the conference at UNM on the McNair blog.

Twenty seven students traveled to the Texoma Region of the National Association of Teachers of Singing Conference to compete in Oklahoma City with Dr. Rick Piersall and Dr. Julie Pruett. Among the students were Megan Lewis, Mikalia Bradberry, Jasmine Washington, Teonna Murphy, Kendall Stubblefield, Kristen Gillis, and Keely Smith.

Caitlin Norquist sang the role of Casilda at the Utah Vocal Arts Academy/Utah Lyric Opera festival.


Read More