Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy, named after American educational psychologist Benjamin Bloom, identified six levels of objectives within the cognitive domain, from the simple recall or recognition of facts, as the lowest level, through increasingly more complex and abstract mental levels, to the highest order which is classified as evaluation (Bloom, Engelhart, Furst, & Krathwohl, 1956)

  • Knowledge
  • Comprehension
  • Application
  • Analysis
  • Synthesis
  • Evaluation

Anderson and Krathwohl (2001) revised the list and

  • Remembering
  • Comprehending
  • Applying
  • Analyzing
  • Evaluating
  • Creating

Check Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy Action Verbs for the taxonomy.  Use the verbs as you write your learning outcomes.


Anderson, L. W., Krathwohl, D. R., (2001). A taxonomy for learning, teaching and assessing: A revision of Bloom’s taxonomy of educational objectivesNew York. Longman.

Bloom, B. S.; Engelhart, M. D.; Furst, E. J.; Hill, W. H.; Krathwohl, D. R. (1956). Taxonomy of educational objectives: The classification of educational goals. Handbook I: Cognitive domain. New York: David McKay Company